Everyday Life, Lessons Learnt

How to Turn Your Mistakes into an Invention

Have you ever heard of the saying that when a tailor makes a mistake it becomes a design?

Well, I made a funny discovery last night from our washing machine.

Heaps of clothes pile up on a daily basis as is usual when you have small children. They can use several clothes in 24 hours as clothes are often soiled either from eating or playing.

Did I mention that my the younger daughter hates bibs with a passion? She thinks that it stops her from enjoying her meals and quickly pulls it off her neck. That means new clothes for each meal. Multiply that with the number of times children under three years eat in a day times two kids then you know how much clothes dirty we have on a daily basis.

Of course, there is a washing machine to help me here but I cannot be wash everyday. Apart from the fact that the poor machine could be damaged faster, the cost of detergents, electricity and water are also to be considered.

I therefore decided to gather the clothes and sort them by like-colours and then load into the machine when it is much.

The girls’ part is to help spread them; they enjoy doing this a lot and like that we wash more often.

mc

And then what happened?

I had sometimes noticed that there are small traces of stains from other clothes after washing but I usually over-look it since it’s almost insignificant.

However, we were all amazed when we brought out clothes from the machine last night and saw that all the clothes had turned pink.

The offender was a pink singlet I got from a friend, it was the first time I washed it and didn’t imagine that it will change other clothes.

As a result, all the clothes turned pink no matter its previous colour.

The older girl screamed that all her clothes has become pink and hasn’t stopped talking about it.

Now, most of our clothes are pink, thanks to the pink singlet.

Be that as it may, I learnt that changing the colour of your clothe is now as simple as washing it with the desired colour.

I should experiment with other colours too!

Isn’t this how inventions are made?

Have you made a funny mistake that turned out well?

Please share your experience in the comment box.

18 thoughts on “How to Turn Your Mistakes into an Invention”

  1. Hope I just love your attitude!! Even though your girls (probably the older one was upset) you found a positive out of it! My daughter used to tell me I ruined all her clothes…and sometimes yea all pick or blue! Yet when she washed her face with clerasil (face cleanser with peroxide in it) she would bleach out all her collars and thought I did it!! I really really am amazed you find time to blog regular with your girls! Very new respect for your time and coming into my blog! I raised 3 girls.. Still feeling myself having to consciously give myself time..even now that the youngest is on her own at 21… I always used to tell the girls…it’s not what you can get done … It is your gratitude for what can be created in this moment! Heart to Heart Robyn
    Thanks for lighting up our world Hope!

    Like

      1. You are incredible Hope and see your girls gaining so much from your big heart..I am sure they are already able to give back…Thank you for saying hello to the girls..They are so independent now I am grateful for this moment as well.seeing their contributions makes my heart sing.. Heart to Heart Robyn

        Like

  2. haha, that was funny…it reminded me of how my mom used to turn clothes pink sort of regularly and she always joked that she needed “laundry room malpractice insurance”.

    Have a happy day! Thanks for the memory, it made me smile!

    Like

      1. I was not punished. It was a mistake I learned from. We laughed about it and my dad wore his newly colored underclothes!!! hehe….

        Like

Leave a Reply

