Blogging

Towards a Better Reading Culture

Hey pals, it’s been a while . Well, I guess most of you didn’t even notice my temporary absence…
What have I been up to, one may ask?

I have been occupied with reading. Yes! That’s right, I decided to take a short break to refuel the engine upstairs. Not that it was totally empty but it sure needed to be refilled.

As 2014 was coming to a close and I was into a ‘sober’ reflection on how productive the year had been and possibly brace up for a better new year. I noticed I had read very few books and but more of news and of course, blog posts.

My reading culture was almost at it’s lowest in many years. I was more interested in picking up my PC or the phone at the slightest opportunity. Picking up a book ( except for Finnish language materials) was hardly ever a close option.

I, that was a voracious reader only a few years ago, barely looked beyond book covers. I remember I used to read any book that came my way and within a short time, I would have devoured it.

Back then, I would rather read than watch movies.
And I could boldly announce that reading was my hobby. Could I honestly say the same thing nowadays?

So I wanted to change the habit of writing more than I read. I promised myself that I will read more in the new year, after all, I wasn’t appointed a library prefect for nothing.

Coincidentally, I got about four novels for Christmas and I’m determined to read them all within a short period.
I have began with two already, and there’s no going back.

I will be sharing some of my reading experiences with you in subsequent posts and I can’t wait to become a reader once again.

Do you have any reading suggestions, fiction and non fiction? Have you written a book that you will like reviews on?
Please share in the comments or hit me a direct email.

21 thoughts on “Towards a Better Reading Culture”

  1. Hmmmm, did not know that someone was in same shoe as I am. I can count the number of books I have read this year on one hand, and that is abnormal. Yesterday, I broke the jinx and bought a novel yesterday but yet to read it. Thanks for this prompting.

    I have not been seeing your posts nor receive notifications of your posts.

    Like

  2. I think it’s amazing that you’re getting back into some solid reading. There’s just too little of that going on these days. So enjoy yourself, and I’ll be looking for some book reports in the near future. 😉

    Like

  3. wow, Finnish language. That is a huge undertaking. I do have a book. I’m not sure if you read it. Radio Shangri-La: What i learned in Bhutan, the Happiest Kingdom on Earth by Lisa Napoli, 2010. I have not traveled outside the U.S. yet, and enjoy more non-fiction over fiction. Beautiful story of the Bhutan then and now the rising tourism. The author has a chapter at the back to learn more about Bhutan. The begining is a little slow, but once she gets to Bhutan it is hard to put the book down. If you ever read it, let me know what you think. ~Julia

    Like

  4. I am reading all the time. I have a weakness for good mysteries. I keep recommending a book I read this past year which can qualify as literature as well. “Ordinary Grace” by William Kent Krueger. I would say it is one of the best I have read. I admire you in learning Finnish.

    Like

  5. Welcome back Hope! Reading is the best way to improve your writing besides just writing! I love watching movies and found I had to just about eliminate movie watching to keep up with the reading and writing; it has been well worth it to me!

    Like

    1. Thanks!
      Reading is indeed an important skills for any successful writer. I think we learn more from reading than watching movies. However, one need not do away with either but striking a balance is necessary.

      Like

    1. So you’re in a similar situation 🙂
      I’m trying to learn the Finnish language as living in the country without the language skills posses a lot of limitations to immigrants.

      Like

Leave a Reply

